Flags for Northern Ireland

Republic of Ireland Flag

The Irish flag is a vertical tricolour of green, white and orange.

The flag was originally designed in 1848 but it was not until the Easter Rising in 1916 that it was adopted as the national flag of Ireland.

It was granted constitutional status by the 1937 Constitution of Ireland.

Irish Republic Flags Flags of Northern Ireland
Union Jack

United Kingdom Flag

The Union Jack or Union flag is the national flag of the United Kingdom.

The Union Flag is the only official flag in Northern Ireland.

The flag originates back to the earl 1600’s.

The Flag’s design today followed the Act of Union of Great Britain and Ireland in 1801.

The Union Flag will be flown over some Government buildings on specified days.

Ulster Banner

The Ulster Banner was used by Northern Ireland Government from 1953 until the government and parliament’s abolishment in 1973.

The Red Hand of Ulster Flag is still flown today by Loyalist and Unionists although it has no official status.

'Joy is made Here'

"That part of Rostrevor which overlooks Carlingford Lough is my idea of Narnia.'!"
CS Lewis
Author of The Chronicles of Narnoa

Province of Ulster Flag

The Flag of the Province of Ulster is an historic banner representing Ulster as one of the four provinces of Ireland – Ulster, Leinster, Munster and Connaught.

The flag was born out a union between two of Ireland’s most influential families, the De Burgh and O’Neill Clan, and incorpotares their respective coats of arms.

Flags of Northern Ireland Province of Ulster
Flags of Northern Ireland Saint Patrick's Saltire

St Patrick's Saltire

St. Patrick’s Saltire, sometimes known as Saint Patrick’s Cross is a flag used to represent the island of Ireland.

It dates back to the 1700’s when it was adopted by the Order of St Patrick established by the English King George III

With the Act of Union of 1801, the saltire was added to Union Flag to form the Union Jack

Eating & Sleeping

NI Sporting Flags

NI Football Team Flag

The Northern Ireland Football team flag bears the insignia of the IFA – Irish Football Association – who are the governing body for Northern Ireland football.

The IFA have just over 960 registered clubs one of which is our own Warrenpoint Town FC

Flags for Northern Ireland Football Team
Flags for Northern Ireland GAA Flags Ulster Teams

Ulster GAA County Flags

The Province of Ulster has 9 Counties – Down, Armagh, Tyrone, Antrim, Fermanagh, Derry, Donegal, Monaghan and Cavan.

Each of these counties have a County Gaelic Athletic Association (GAA) consisting of Gaelic Football and Hurling teams, song and dance competitors both at club levels and County levels.

Each county has a flag and crest.


QUB Flag

This is the flag of Queen’s University Belfast.

The University was founded in 1810 and it’s motto is “For so much, what will give back?”

The current Chancellor of the University is Hillary Clinton.

Hillary Clinton has stated “the university is making waves internationally for its research and impact and I am proud to be an ambassador and help grow its reputation for excellence”

Flags for Northern Ireland Queen's University Belfast

Video: Flags For Northern Ireland Explained

Video: Flags in Northern Ireland: A Funny Take

Scroll to Top